Now Reading: The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington

The Longest Reading Tour Ever moves on to book #2 on the Pulitzer Prize list. The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington. (Available at Project Gutenberg)

Published in 1918, TMA is the second book of Tarkington’s Growth trilogy. It confuses me that the second book in a trilogy can win without the first. They obviously build on one another so without the first, the second would be, while superbly written and perhaps socially timely, confusing. Without the first, it would lack. Or so I assume.

Same principle as the Godfather Part II winning the Oscar. Great movie. GREAT movie! Stronger than the first. But you had to understand the significance of the Corleone family and have the first to compare it.

Or, dare I say, The Empire Strikes Back! Much stronger movie! But if you don’t know the history between Han and Leia, the line “I know” doesn’t carry as much weight.

That being said, I’m only 22% into it. And not a fan. At all.

While His Family read like it could have been written yesterday, TMA’s language and style are esoteric and … ANNOYING! The use of quotes alone was enough to make me want to give up.

Enter the character- George. Georgie right now. I despise this kid. I despise parents that indulge this little shit. I’m holding my breath for someone to palm his face and push him into a pile of horse shit.

Again, a thought, I’d give up if weren’t a list book. BUT… Orsen Wells thought enough of it to make a well-received movie. Earning Wells a Best Picture nomination. Considered by some to be one of the greatest movies ever made.

So… I’ll push on. The has to be something there. Maybe Georgie will end up not smelling like a rose to his folks or anyone else.

I sure hope so!

Drop your thoughts on your experience with the book below!

Leave a comment